Articles

How To Become A Hacker

In Quotes on 2010-04-13 by Kyle Maxwell Tagged: , ,

There is a community, a shared culture, of expert programmers and networking wizards that traces its history back through decades to the first time-sharing minicomputers and the earliest ARPAnet experiments. The members of this culture originated the term ‘hacker’. Hackers built the Internet. Hackers made the Unix operating system what it is today. Hackers run Usenet. Hackers make the World Wide Web work. If you are part of this culture, if you have contributed to it and other people in it know who you are and call you a hacker, you’re a hacker.

via How To Become A Hacker.

One Response to “How To Become A Hacker”

  1. Its so funny that I can now say I am part of this culture. Although I remember a time when I was such an outsider. I have the “social-web” to thank for my introduction to this world. Now, some of my best friends are programmers, etc. I am a PROUD open source dude, and welcome the camaraderie.

Leave a Reply

