Articles

Richard Hamming: You and Your Research

In Quotes on 2010-03-31 by Kyle Maxwell Tagged: , , ,

I’m not exaggerating when I say that this changes my life every time I read it.

Why shouldn’t you do significant things in this one life, however you define significant? I’m not going to define it – you know what I mean. I will talk mainly about science because that is what I have studied. But so far as I know, and I’ve been told by others, much of what I say applies to many fields. Outstanding work is characterized very much the same way in most fields, but I will confine myself to science….

In summary, I claim that some of the reasons why so many people who have greatness within their grasp don’t succeed are: they don’t work on important problems, they don’t become emotionally involved, they don’t try and change what is difficult to some other situation which is easily done but is still important, and they keep giving themselves alibis why they don’t. They keep saying that it is a matter of luck. I’ve told you how easy it is; furthermore I’ve told you how to reform. Therefore, go forth and become great scientists!

Richard Hamming: You and Your Research.

One Response to “Richard Hamming: You and Your Research”

  1. […] follows on my link yesterday to Richard Hamming’s talk on research and the idea that, to do great work, you must work on […]

Leave a Reply

