Articles

Roleplay and gameplay

In Uncategorized on 2009-02-19 by Kyle Maxwell

I’m writing something for some EVE Online planning and needed to clarify my stance on roleplay versus gameplay. Really, I’ve always viewed every game I play as sort of a roleplaying game, or at least storytelling in some form. To paraphrase Donald Davis, storytelling is not what I do for gaming – it is how I do all that I do while I am gaming.

But at the same time, I don’t enjoy the sort of bar-hopping or angst RP that many others seem to. I play games for adventure, immersion, and escapism, not to seek new forms of interpersonal drama. Real life provides plenty of that all on its own.

So in trying to whittle down what I’d written to a simple, clear, unambiguous statement (and one that would fit on Twitter), I finally settled on this:

Roleplay is to gameplay as a marinade is to a steak: it adds flavor but isn’t the whole meal.

Of course, I’d like your perspectives on this. Do you think roleplay should more than that? Or less? Or something else entirely?

Leave a Reply

