Articles

Representing myself in RPG terms

In Uncategorized on 2008-12-03 by Kyle Maxwell

Now, I don’t play fantasy games for a number of reasons. Generally, I need chrome in my settings, and I prefer to avoid magic-based games. But I’ve long thought about applying my RPG skills to RL and using game design as a lens to see the real world. Models provide us a tool to examine reality in simpler terms while still (hopefully) retaining some connection to the truth.

With that in mind, I took the EasyDamus test as the RL me, and the results really managed to capture how I see myself, if not how I really am. I hold a degree in mathematics and regularly throw myself into the most arcane, technical matters I can find. At the same time, my spirituality sits even closer to the core of my identity. I spend a great deal of time in my family and in my congregation helping others with both doctrinal and practical matters. Oh, and “absent-minded professor” isn’t just a joke, it’s reality. So when the test came up with something that models that very closely, though in Dungeons & Dragons mechanics, something inside me grinned.

Test results after the jump.

Leave a Reply

